Friday Features – Kris of Boho Groove Designs

Friday Features are all about meeting the talented artists and creators of hand crafted goods to share their stories and bring to light the value and beauty found in handmade.

Today’s feature is all about Kris from Boho Groove Designs on Etsy!


Tell me about yourself and your shop.

I started making jewelry on a whim because I wanted hippie bohemian jewelry to wear but didn’t have the money to buy the pieces I liked. I got some tools, some beads and never looked back! I’ve been in business since July, 2012.

What do you do when you need a little bit if inspiration?
When I need inspiration a look through my bohemian pin board on Pinterest. I’m often inspired by color combinations and different textures.

What is your best achievement?

My greatest achievement is how well my shop has done since I started about 6 months ago. I’ve had over 100 orders (Etsy and private orders) which far exceeded my initial expectations and goals.

Turquoise Boho Bracelet - Bohemian Jewelry

Turquoise Boho Bracelet

What does handmade mean to you?

To me, handmade means something that has been designed and created by hand.

Do you also offer custom made items? Is it something you like to do?

I do offer custom orders and have actually had quite a few. I enjoy the challenge as well as working in collaboration with the buyer to make exactly what they have envisioned.

What plans do you have for the future of you business?

This year I have started a team for makers of bohemian, gypsy and hippie jewelry on Etsy called “The Hippie Bohemian”. I have a goal of 15 orders a month on Etsy and then additional private sales.

Colorful Bohemian Chandelier Earrings - Bohemian Hippie Jewelry

Colorful Bohemian Chandelier Earrings

Any advice for others looking to sell their handmade items?

The best thing I ever did was hook up with Etsy. It makes promoting and marketing your handcrafted items easy and helps you streamline the process. If you don’t know anything about selling something, Etsy has groups, teams, articles and other various tools to make you as successful as you dream to be. It’s a great community to share your craft and meet other people doing the same thing you are doing.

Many thanks to Kris and be sure to check out the rest of her shop!

Stay tuned for more Friday Features, crafty tutorials, and other joyous posts!  If you’d like to stay up-to-date on happenings here at Homegrownjoy, follow this blog, like us on Facebook, or follow on Twitter.  Thank you!

Leave a Reply

