Friday Features – Cassandra of Lyn and Lee

Friday Features are all about meeting the talented artists and creators of hand crafted goods to share their stories and bring to light the value and beauty found in handmade.

Today’s feature is all about Cassandra from Lyn and Lee on Etsy!

Tell me about yourself and your shop.

Hi! My name is Cassandra and I am a small town girl living in a big city. I have a fondness for mercury glass, snickerdoodles, football, animals, good movies and books and love having a great time with family and friends. I create one of a kind jewelry, great for any occasion using semi-precious stones, jewelry that works with jeans during the day and a little black dress at night. I strive to make jewelry that makes everyone feel like that inner goddess that we have in all of us.

How did you start, and why did you choose your craft? How much experience do you have so far?
I have always love jewelry and have always been creative; it made sense that two would go hand in hand with me and turn into what I loved to do. Lyn & Lee (which are the middle names of me and my sister) officially came into fruition in 2012. I had been creating jewelry for year and a half prior, giving gifts to family and friends for every holiday and birthday until they finally said “Enough is enough! You need to start selling these.” And so the ride begun.

Teal & Peacock Freshwater Pearl Woven Boho Beaded Hoop Earrings

Teal & Peacock Freshwater Pearl Woven Boho Beaded Hoop Earrings

What influences your work from your life or city? (or anything else that influences you)
So many things influence me, new stones that I just got in, a book I am reading, a color I am currently in love with, etc. The list goes on and on

What do you do when you need a little bit if inspiration?
Sometimes I just open everything, just grab and see what comes out of it.

What is your best achievement?
My first sale to someone other then friends or family. I reaffirmed that the road I was heading down was the right one.

Faceted Brecciated Jasper and Calcite Stretch Bracelet

Faceted Brecciated Jasper and Calcite Stretch Bracelet

What does handmade mean to you?
To me handmade means the thought and emotion that is put into a piece.

Do you also offer custom made items? Is it something you like to do?
At this time I don’t offer custom items, my pieces are one of a kind, so in a way they are custom.

What plans do you have for the future of you business?
My plans are to keep trucking on and I am looking toward the time where Lyn & Lee is my only full time job.

Any advice for others looking to sell their handmade items?
If it is something that you really love, it isn’t always the smoothest journey but then again the things that are worth it never are. And trust me it can be worth it.

Black Obsidian, Cream Quartzite and Purple Fluorite Woven Necklace

Black Obsidian, Cream Quartzite and Purple Fluorite Woven Necklace

Many thanks to Cassandra and be sure to check out the rest of her shop!

Stay tuned for more Friday Features, crafty tutorials, and other joyous posts!  If you’d like to stay up-to-date on happenings here at Homegrownjoy, follow this blog, like us on Facebook, or follow on Twitter.  Thank you!

Leave a Reply

