Monday Munchies – Balsamic & Parmesan Roasted Cauliflower

Another fantastic in-season vegetable right now is cauliflower.  I know a lot of people don’t really like cauliflower, and to be honest, I didn’t really either until a few years ago.  I hated it raw and always thought it was a very bland vegetable, but once I tried it roasted I was in love!  Roasting cauliflower really brings out a nutty, slightly sweet flavor, which mixes deliciously with the balsamic and Parmesan in this recipe.

The great thing about balsamic vinegar is that it adds tons of flavor without a lot of added calories.  You can even experiment with different flavors available through a great company called The Olive Tap.  I think the Sicilian Lemon White Balsamic would be good in this recipe, and I personally like the Apple or Raspberry Balsamic Vinegars in homemade salad dressings.  It’s a little pricey to be sure, but well worth it!

Balsamic & Parmesan Roasted CauliflowerBalsamic & Parmesan Roasted Cauliflower Recipe

Ingredients

  • 8 cups 1-inch-thick slices cauliflower florets, (about 1 large head; see Tip)
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon dried marjoram
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • Freshly ground pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 cup finely shredded Parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 450°F.
  2. Toss cauliflower, oil, marjoram, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Spread on a large rimmed baking sheet and roast until starting to soften and brown on the bottom, 15 to 20 minutes. Toss the cauliflower with vinegar and sprinkle with cheese. Return to the oven and roast until the cheese is melted and any moisture has evaporated, 5 to 10 minutes more.

 

3 responses

  1. I’ve never heard of marjoram – what is it? Do you think it’ll make a difference if I don’t have it/can’t find it? I really want to try this recipe 🙂

    • It’s a type of spice. I have some that came with my spice rack, but if you don’t have any you can replace it with either basil or thyme. Savory is also a good substitute, but I’m not sure how common that one is (again it’s something that came with my spice rack). Sometimes you’ll hear that you can replace 2/3 the amount of marjoram with oregano (a close cousin, but oregano has a stronger flavor). I’ve not tried this, but it’s another possible option.

      Good luck!

  2. Pingback: Roasted Balsamic Asparagus « Living Too Large

Leave a Reply

