Friday Features – Anusha of Prasad Designs

Friday Features are all about meeting the talented artists and creators of hand crafted goods to share their stories and bring to light the value and beauty found in handmade.

Today’s feature is all about Anusha fromPrasad Designs on Etsy!

Tell me about yourself and your shop.

Hi! My name is Anusha and I am a college student from MA. My friend told me about Etsy and after learning more about it, I opened my store. I opened my store, PrasadDesigns (www.etsy.com/shop/PrasadDesigns), at the end of June. I focus on jewelry, everything ranging from necklaces to sea glass pendants. Besides making jewelry, I love reading. I also enjoy traveling, especially to India, which I’ve been to about 9 times.

How did you start, and why did you choose your craft? How much experience do you have so far?

I started making jewelry ever since I was a little girl. I used to make jewelry for fun and only for myself but I have now decided to turn this hobby into a business and share my jewelry with everyone else. I have also taken a couple jewelry classes to learn more techniques and to enhance my skills. Making jewelry and being creative is a passion of mine.

Bright Neon Chunky Emerald Green Stretch Bracelet with Ring

Bright Neon Chunky Emerald Green Stretch Bracelet with Ring

What influences your work from your life or city? (or anything else that influences you)?
Making jewelry is a passion for me. I look through pictures online or when I notice someone on the street wearing something unique, it inspires me to make something just as unique as the piece I just saw. Other times, it just comes to me naturally. I could be doing homework and cooking, and a random thought will come into my mind. My jewelry is influenced by everything around me.

What is your best achievement?

My greatest achievement would be my acceptance to my current college. I worked really hard in high school and managed to pull off excellent grades and excellent SAT scores. Because of this, I was able to attend my top school.

What does handmade mean to you?

For me, handmade means being able to be creative and make something beautiful with my own two hands. It makes me feel good when I finish a piece and I can look at it and say to myself “I made that”! I am proud to sell handmade jewelry in my store.

Gifts For Her: Valentine's Day Neon Garnet Red Raspberry Egg Bird Nest Necklace Pendant

Valentine’s Day Neon Garnet Red Raspberry Egg Bird Nest Necklace Pendant

Do you also offer custom made items? Is it something you like to do?

Right now, I do not but I am definitely considering doing this. My business just started but I hope to soon start offering custom orders.

What plans do you have for the future of your business?

I would like my sales to really soar and be more successful this year. I’ve been making jewelry for a while now and I would like to see people share my enjoyment by purchasing items from my shop. In addition, I plan to expand by making more items to stock my store and offer more variety of jewelry. I also want to promote my store as often as I can.

Any advice for others looking to sell their handmade items?

Don’t give up and pursue your passion. It is very easy for us to give up but hard work and determination will come a long way.

Aqua Blue Sea Glass Wire Wrapped Dangle Earrings - Silver Wire

Aqua Blue Sea Glass Wire Wrapped Dangle Earrings – Silver Wire

Many thanks to Anusha and be sure to check out the rest of her shop!

Stay tuned for more Friday Features, crafty tutorials, and other joyous posts!  If you’d like to stay up-to-date on happenings here at Homegrownjoy, follow this blog, like us on Facebook, or follow on Twitter.  Thank you!

Leave a Reply

