New Year, New Diet

I know it’s cliche for a New Year’s Resolution to be “lose weight,” and honestly it wasn’t even my intention to set such a resolution.  In fact, my resolutions/goals for 2013 are:

  • Eat and cook more seasonally
  • Downsize my things
  • Save up to build our own house
  • Grow my home business to account for at least 1/2 of my total income
  • Go on long walks at least 3-4 times a week
  • Volunteer at the animal shelter
  • Read more books
  • Be warm, kind, and more considerate (go out of my way to do nice things for people, strangers included)

So how did I get into the “I need to lose weight” mindset?  I had a job interview today, and the black slacks that were loose on me 4 months ago are now tight.  Too tight for me to reasonable wear them to an interview too ( I opted for some gray slacks that fit, but were also more snug than I remember).  The job looks promising, but part of the uniform is wearing black slacks.  I don’t really want to buy new ones, which means my other option is to lose the weight I’ve put on.

I’ve never been one to count calories, but I love the Weight Watchers program.  If you’re not familiar with Weight Watchers, it’s a weight-loss program that assigns point values to foods and gives you a total amount of points you should eat in one day.  You still have to count and track points, but I find it way more fun than just counting calories.  The new WW system looks at carbs, protein, fiber, and fat to calculate points, and raw fruits and veggies are now 0 points (my favorite part).  It really encourages healthy eating, not just less eating.

I lost about 15 pounds over 3 months a few summers ago, and am pulling out all my old materials to start up again.  I’m hoping I can stick with it (I have such a sweet tooth) and fit into those pants again soon!

 

4 responses

  1. To help you out with your first goal of cooking/eating more seasonally, check out the books by Terry Walters (if you haven’t already). In particular, start with ‘Clean Food’ and then ‘Clean Start’ after that. It’s broken down by season and the food is AMAZING. Some of it can be difficult to find, but most of the oddities can be found at Earth Fare up in Fairlawn. I discovered her cooking about a year ago, after I decided I wanted to do something similar.

    • Thank you for the suggestions! I’ll definitely check them out. Seems like it’ll be easier to eat seasonally if I have more of a guideline, instead of just trying to figure it out on my own.

      I’ll keep everyone updated on how it goes!

Leave a Reply

