Friday Features – Asta of Asta’s Artwork

Friday Features are all about meeting the talented artists and creators of hand crafted goods to share their stories and bring to light the value and beauty found in handmade.

Today’s feature is all about Asta from Asta’s Artwork on Etsy!

Handmade OOAK home decor blue sea original painting with beach rocks on canvas. Modern abstract unique water nature art 16x12

Original One of A Kind blue sea original painting with beach rocks on canvas

Tell me about yourself and your shop.
My name is Asta and I am an artist (my online gallery – asta.aigalerija.lt/) and the owner / project manager at AI galerija project (AI gallery – www.aigalerija.lt).

I heard about Etsy a lot and decided to open my shop there. It happened in early spring 2012 (www.etsy.com/shop/AstaArtwork).
I’ve already sold 22 items there. I also sell my paintings at two shops in old town Tallinn (Estonia, Europe).

Nowadays I can hardly imagine my free-time without painting. Colorful and playful paintings dominate in my portfolio – warm and bright colors help me to express warm feelings and good emotions which I want to share with viewers.

I also love to cook, and one time per week I cook something special for me and my boyfriend’s tummy :).

How did you start, and why did you choose your craft? How much experience do you have so far?
I finished art school in Lithuania (Sept 2001 – Sept 2005). I had very good relationships with all my teachers and always spent more time than others at school (in my free time after lessons), talked with teachers, met with them during the holidays and painted together. So I got more practice, news about art, and more lessons of course.

I also spent a lot of time in my favorite teacher’s studio too, and we worked together.

I have been very active for the past three years. Also daily I’m communicating with different artists, because I’m the project manager of the project www.aigalerija.lt. It also helps to get more and more experience.

White spotty cat with colorful butterflies original painting. Ink watercolor cute kitty illustration for children, nursery, A4 drawing 12x8

White spotty cat with colorful butterflies original painting

What influences your work from your life or city? (or anything else that influences you)
Painting is a passion for me and is the way I can express my feelings, thoughts, and visions I have in my mind and what is very important for me – I can do this in the way I want, in the way I see the world around me.

What do you do when you need a little bit if inspiration?
I get inspired very easily, mostly by things that surround me. If I need a little bit of inspiration, I go for a walk to one of the galleries, listen to music, read a book, dream, or talk with friends and other artists.

What is your best achievement?
A lovely lady from the USA who is living in France now bought seven my paintings and created my gallery at her home. After 6 months she bought one more painting for her girls’ room. She always reminds me how she loves my paintings. I really want to say THANK YOU to her!

Miniature painting on canvas. Minimalist minimal tiny orange peachy sunrise morning mountains. Home decor under 25 7x7

Miniature painting on canvas

What does handmade mean to you?
Everything which was created by the person who used his own technique, thoughts, hands and love.
All my paintings are handmade!

Do you also offer custom made items? Is it something you like to do?
Yes, I do. One customer wanted the painting which was already sold. I painted the new one but I can’t always promise that it’ll be the same. It could be the same idea and colors. But I’m trying to do my best! I’m offering prints now. So if you like the painting which is already sold, you can get the print instead.

Tree Colorful painting print. Modern abstract tree landscape purple orange art.Winter Wall Decor Fine art Home Decor.Christmas gift under 25

Print of the original Tree Colorful painting

What plans do you have for the future of your business?
I would like to promote my art in my new living place – Tallinn, Estonia (Europe). I would like to have my first individual exhibition and will get some more orders of course.
After few weeks I’ll have my own online shop – gallery – www.artbyasta.com. My boyfriend Ignas is still working with it while he is a professional web developer and freelancer photographer (photo.butenas.com/). He always encouraged me to paint more and more :).

Any advice for others looking to sell their handmade items?
My advice would be – love what you do and never give up! Try different things, learn something new time to time, do not be lazy, enjoy life! 🙂

Many thanks to Asta and be sure to check out the rest of her shop for more wonderfully colorful finds!

Stay tuned for more Friday Features, crafty tutorials, and other joyous posts!  If you’d like to stay up-to-date on happenings here at Homegrownjoy, follow this blog, like us on Facebook, or follow on Twitter.  Thank you!

One response

Leave a Reply

