Friday Feature – Love By Chari

Friday Features are all about meeting the talented artists and creators of hand crafted goods to share their stories and bring to light the value and beauty found in handmade.

Today’s feature is all about Love By Chari on Etsy!

Tell me about yourself and your shop.

I’m a college student and I’m currently finishing up my undergraduate degree. Interesting fact: I have a mean sweet tooth, after every meal I must eat something sweet.
I’m a new seller to Etsy and I’m looking forward to expanding my shop. Currently, I’m selling fabric covered button earrings and in a few short months I will be adding different jewelry so stay tuned! I take pride in my work and will spend hours searching for the right fabric. I like to look for anything that pops and stands out. With each piece I make, I always ask myself if I would wear it. If not, I will keep searching for the right fabric. My shop caters to young girls and mature woman, my earrings are perfect for any occasion and are the perfect gift.

Fabric Covered Button Earrings Cheetah Leopard Animal Print Light Brown

Fabric Covered Button Earrings Cheetah Leopard Animal Print

How did you start, and why did you choose your craft? How much experience do you have so far?

Since I work in the food industry, I’m not allowed to wear earrings that hang. After going to countless stores trying to find the appropriate earrings without any luck I decided to make my own. My earrings are unique and a great conversation starter! I always receive plenty of complements on my earrings. Since receiving such positive feedback, I decided to open an Etsy shop.

What influences your work from your life or city?

Everything around me influences my work. My family influences me by always encouraging me to create more earrings. I love funky, unique, and different patterns/fabric for my earrings. Also the city (Chicago) is full of life and beautiful inspirations.

Fabric Covered Button Earrings Black and White Splatter Design

Fabric Covered Button Earrings Black and White Splatter Design

What do you do when you need a little bit if inspiration?

I like to look at other shops for inspiration, they motivate me to keep making more of my creations. I like to visit different types of stores and see what colors and patterns are on trend for the season.

What is your best achievement?

Opening an Etsy shop and having other view my creations. I’ve always wanted to make and sell handmade jewelry and now I am! My biggest achievement will be having a first sale.

What does handmade mean to you?

Handmade means to me is when someone spends time to create and make a one of a kind item. These items aren’t mass produced and are made with love and compassion.

Fabric Covered Button Earrings Colorful Art Deco Squares

Fabric Covered Button Earrings Colorful Art Deco Squares

Do you also offer custom made items? Is it something you like to do?

At this time I do not offer custom made items. I have given it some thought and I will offer this option in the future.

What plans do you have for the future of you business?


My future plans for my business is to expand my line of handmade jewelry. I would also like to have my own shop showcasing my work.

Any advice for others looking to sell their handmade items?

Of course! Go ahead and follow your dreams. Most importantly, don’t let anyone put you down, always believe in yourself and have patience.

Many thanks to Love By Chari and be sure to check out the rest of her shop for more beautiful finds!

Stay tuned for more Friday Features, crafty tutorials, and other joyous posts!  If you’d like to stay up-to-date on happenings here at Homegrownjoy, follow this blog, like us on Facebook, or follow on Twitter.  Thank you!

One response

  1. Pingback: Earring Review: KeKe Smith aka MissFancyFeather of Fancy Chic Unique Boutique « GaptoothDiva

Leave a Reply

