Avant-Garde Summit County Craft Show

This past Sunday I did my second craft show at the first ever Summit County Avant-Garde Craft Show.  It had a lot more vendors than I thought, and it was great to meet new people and see all the wonderful talent from local artists and craftsmen.  It wasn’t as successful as I was hoping, but I gave out a lot of business cards and learned a few things:

  1. People really liked my fingerless gloves, but many times they commented on wanting a different color or adding fur trim.  These are ideas I will consider for future productions.
  2. A lot of people will comment that your stuff is cute or beautiful or well-done, but that doesn’t mean they will buy any of it.
  3. Family can be your best customer.  Be thankful for their support.
  4. It’s just as important to get your name out there and socialize as it is to make sales.  Brand recognition can lead to future orders and networking can take you places you can’t even imagine.
  5. Above all, stay positive, even if you’re feeling a little defeated.

Here’s my booth, set up and ready for the show:

DSCN2684

You can see all the pictures from the craft fair on my Facebook page, including close-ups of my items and display.

I’m considering doing the Avant-Garde show in the spring, but for now I’m back to work on some more holiday orders.

Happy Wednesday!

 

 

4 responses

  1. Congrats on your second craft show! Nice display. First time shows usually start slow so that might explain your less than expected sales. Also, no matter what you make someone will want something different. For me it’s more important to make quality products vs. quantity.

Leave a Reply

