Sweet Surprise – Eat Boutique

A few weeks ago I entered a giveaway on The Vanilla Bean Blog for an Eat Boutique gift package.  To my surprise, I won! It was the cutest little assortment of treats and would definitely make an amazing holiday gift for any food lovers in your life.

Eat Boutique is an online shop that crafts seasonal, regional, and tasting boxes… by discovering the best small batch foods by boutique food makers. You can choose from themed boxes, subscribe to seasonal boxes, or browse individual gourmet items they have available.  As a small creative business owner myself, I love the idea of supporting locally handcrafted foods.

My box included the following delicious treats:

  • Coffee Break bar from Liddabit Sweets, Brooklyn, New York
  • Mexican Chocolate Almonds from Q’s Nuts, Somerville, Massachusetts
  • Tangerine Hard Candy from Brooklyn Hard Candy, Brooklyn, New York
  • Scourtins from Lark Find Foods, Essex, Massachusetts
  • A handwritten note from Maggie at Eat Boutique (thank you Maggie!)

DSCN2670

First, I would like to show you a picture of the coffee break bar, but unfortunately I only have the box left.  The temptation was too much to overcome and I simply couldn’t wait to take a photo before I ate it.  It’s a sinfully delicious candy bar with chewy caramel, a fudgy chocolate center with a bit of crunchies in one layer, and all covered in Crop to Cup coffee ganache.  Decadent!  I want to buy another straight from Liddabit Sweets, or try some of their other great candy bar combinations.

DSCN2671

The Mexican Chocolate Almonds were equally fantastic.  The chocolate coating was unlike any other ‘cocoa dusted’ almonds I’ve tried.  There was definitely something very distinct about it, with a little crunch in the chocolate coating shell.  Again, I ate them all in one night they were so good!  At least almonds are heart healthy, right?

DSCN2673

The Scourtins were definitely a surprise.  Described on the box as “Traditional French-Style Sweet and Savory Olive Wafers,” I wasn’t quite sure what to expect.  Once I tried one, my taste buds were utterly confused, but in a way that screamed of sophistication and fine food.  It was buttery like a cookie, crunchy like a wafer, and savory from the cured olives that are sprinkled throughout the treat.  Once I had a few, I was hooked.  I’ve been munching on them for the past few days with coffee and tea.  I’m intrigued at what else Lark Find Foods has to offer, so I’ll definitely be checking them out more.

DSCN2675

The last sugary sweet is a piece of hard candy in tangerine.  This one I’ve been saving so I can’t report on it right now, but I expect it’ll be just as tasty as the rest.  I think it’ll be really good stirred in a glass of hot chocolate.  If you’ve not tried the combination of chocolate and orange flavor, I highly recommend it.  The citrus is refreshing with the creaminess of the chocolate, mmmm.

DSCN2672

If you’re still looking for a great gift idea, check out Eat Boutique! I bet you’ll find something to suite your taste.

Bon Appetite!

Leave a Reply

