Going Au Naturale…Part 2

So last week I wrote about the awesomeness of alpacas and showed you all my new chocolate brown alpaca yarn.

I decided instantly that I would make a hat, but I wanted it to be special…really special.  I found this beautiful Milanese lace pattern and knew it was what I wanted.  Never mind that I have little practice making hats, or that I’d never worked on circular needles before, or that I didn’t know what “blocking” meant.  I figured I would learn.

After restarting at least 8 times I thought I had it down.  Hours of knitting later, I got this (apologizes for the blurriness, I’m not very good at taking my own pictures from the side like this):

I can tell you right now I made mistakes– it’s a little too big, much too loose, and slouchier than the original pattern, but I love it to bits!  It’s soft and warm and I wear it all the time anyway. I still need to block it, which may help it hold the shape and pattern a bit more than it does now, but I’m working up to it.  I’ve never blocked anything and it seems like quite a process.

But that is for another day.  For now I’m busy with multiple custom orders and a craft show to prepare for this weekend.  I’m super happy about the increase in sales and super exhausted at the same time.   You know I actually woke up with a sore muscle in my forearm from continuous knitting yesterday?  That’s never happened before, but it’s a sign of great productivity.  Hope your week is just as awesome!

Happy Dance!

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

