Monday Munchies – 3 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge

My collection of recipes is growing a bit out of control really.  It started with a nice, organized 3-ring binder.  Recipes were grouped by meal (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, and desserts), and I even tried to keep like recipes together, so under the dessert section all the cookies were together, then all the pie, then all the cakes, etc.

Now new recipes get piled in the front of the binder, not in any kind of order or in a clear binder page.  It’s all I can do to keep them all from falling out when I put the binder back on the shelf with the rest of cookbooks.

As I searched for something new this week, I noticed how many healthy recipes I have.  Not that it’s a bad thing by any means.  I love to be healthy and share healthy meal ideas, like the Balsamic Lentil Mushroom soup I posted a few weeks ago.   I have vegan recipes, whole and natural food recipes,  recipes labeled as healthy, low-carb, watch-your-waistline type foods.  But today I wanted chocolate.  Nothing fake, or low-fat, or claiming I can eat 10 servings for no calories (an exaggeration of course, I don’t think that recipe actually exists).

Balsamic Lentil Mushroom Soup

In my search I ran across a fudge recipe I got from my grandmother.  It’s got just 3 ingredients and 4 steps.  I even made it in a college dorm room one year and shared it with the floor.   Rich and indulgent, I do not recommend eating it all at once (or all yourself), but I will say it’s a great dessert to bring to holiday parties, and a change from all those cookies.  Wrapped up in a pretty tin, this fudge is a great gift as well.  Perfect for co-workers, in-laws, neighbors, and other people you don’t really know what to get.  Enjoy!

Easy 3 Ingredient Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge

Ingredients

  • 12 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 12 oz smooth peanut butter
  • 1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk

Directions

  1. Mix peanut butter and chocolate chips together in a large microwave safe bowl.
  2. Microwave on HIGH for 2 1/2 minutes.
  3. Stir in sweetened condensed milk quickly.  (I recommend opening the can while the chocolate and peanut butter are in the microwave so you are ready.)
  4. Spread in a 8×8 or 9×9 greased baking pan (or lined with waxed paper) and refrigerate until cool and fudge is set. You can use a larger or rectangular pan for thinner fudge.

Notes: The best part about this recipe is the ingredients are usually already in your kitchen! But feel free to make it your own.  Have a bag of peanut butter chips around?  Use it instead of the peanut butter, or sprinkle a few on top while the fudge is still soft.  You can also fold in nuts or mini marshmallows before spreading the fudge in the pan.  Have fun!

Leave a Reply

