Friday Feature – Ana of Chanelled Creations

Friday Features are all about meeting the talented artists and creators of hand crafted goods to share their stories and bring to light the value and beauty found in handmade.

Today’s feature is all about Ana from Chanelled Creations on Etsy!

Tell me about yourself and your shop.

My name is Ana Goncalves originally from Portugal (born in Lisbon) I have been living in the UK for 21 years now. I grew up on a small holding surrounded by animals, nature and community. My parents build their home by scratch and money was scarce so we lived very simply.

I have always been very expressive since small be it through writing, dancing, acting, painting, or crafting and believe that it is the gateway to the soul. Expression became like a gateway to express my feelings and gain awareness and clarity through the creative medium. My Etsy Shop Chanelled Creations sells a variety of colourful and heartfelt original artwork, stationery items, prints and intuitive readings.

How did you start, and why did you choose your craft? How much experience do you have so far?

I have been painting/writing/crafting since I was small and through expression my need to share with others became very natural. I have always enjoyed making things for others, especially through exchanges. I joined swap-bot in 2010 and I became more involved in making things for others in a larger way and that made me even more happier and I also made new friends. In April 2011 I made a conscious step into opening an Etsy Store and share new creations to inspire and uplift others, and use my Art as a way to build foundations of love. hope, and freedom in a meaningful way.

Braided Thread Friendship Bracelet or Anklet - Pastel colors blue, green, violet, yellow, pink - Large

Braided Thread Friendship Bracelet or Anklet

What influences your work from your life or city?

I am inspired by my own self awareness, experiences and others. I use expression as a way to connect to my inner self and discover how I feel.

What do you do when you need a little bit if inspiration?

Take time to be still and reflect. I also go for walks in nature.

What is your best achievement?

My best achievement so far has to be following my dreams and letting my heart lead the way. This is an ever growing continuous part of my journey, to be who I really am and shine that forth.

What does handmade mean to you?

Handmade is about creating from the heart, and leaving an essence of yourself in the work that you create. It’s more than assembling pieces together, it is a person’s reflection and soul being bought through into the world. True artisan craft.

ACEO Original Watercolor Illustration - Power of the Sun - One of a Kind

Original Watercolor Illustration – Power of the Sun

Do you also offer custom made items? Is it something you like to do?

Yes, I offer custom made artwork. It is one of my favorite things to do, to be able to create something for others so that it makes them happy.

What plans do you have for the future of you business?

I hope to broaden my shop and interact with people to form collaborations in the community and even open up a center in the community to facilitate freedom of expression and self awareness.

Any advice for others looking to sell their handmade items?

Keep shining your true light into what you create. Trust yourself in every moment and have faith in what you do. Ask for help when you need it. Enjoy the journey and celebrate your successes, and most importantly of all have fun!

Many thanks to Ana and be sure to check out the rest of her shop for more great finds!

Stay tuned for more Friday Features, crafty tutorials, and other joyous posts!  If you’d like to stay up-to-date on happenings here at Homegrownjoy, follow this blog, like us on Facebook, or follow on Twitter.  Thank you!

Leave a Reply

