Monday Munchies – Balsamic Lentil Mushroom Soup

After the craft show this weekend in the rain, mud, and chilly winds, I really needed something to warm me up from the inside out.  This deliciously hearty soup hits the spot!  I found the base recipe for this last winter on Men’s Heath of all places, and made a few tweaks to fit my taste (and what ingredients I had on hand).  If you’re looking to try a new soup this fall I definitely recommend this Balsamic Lentil Mushroom.  It should freeze well if you need to save some for the winter, but I found it so tasty I ate it all in the same week I made it.  Enjoy!

Balsamic Lentil Mushroom Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3 cups of beef, vegetable, or chicken broth (I used vegetable)
  • 3 cups of water
  • 1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup dried lentils
  • 2 cups of escarole or flat leaf spinach, chopped (you can leave this out if you don’t have any around…sometimes I just garnish with parsley for some color)
  • 2 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 10-15 sliced white button mushrooms or baby portabella mushrooms (I prefer the baby portabella, they have great flavor)

Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the onion and cook, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes, or until soft. Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute.

Add the broth, water, tomatoes (with juice), lentils, and mushrooms. Bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to low, cover, and simmer for 40 minutes, or until the lentils are tender.

Stir in the escarole (or flat leaf spinach) and balsamic vinegar. Cook for 5 minutes to blend the flavors.

Serve with crusty buttered bread or a small side salad.  Bon Apetit!

Leave a Reply

