Stocking Up and Crafting Like a Mad Woman

One week and two days from now I’ll be attending my very first craft show EVER.
Each year, in the quaint little town of Birmingham, Ohio, over 100 sellers, vendors, and crafters gather to share their wares at the Country Harvest of Antiques and Crafts.  I attended this show for years as a buyer–and by years I mean since I was in a stroller.  Yes, really!  My grandmother’s birthday is near the same time, so all the girls of the family go and spend the day together browsing and shopping.  The show has good strong memories for me, so I’m super excited to be a part of it this year.

At the same time, I’m scared witless.  For a few reasons:

  1. I’ve never done a craft show before, so every detail needs to be considered from inventory levels to display set up to transport all the way down to putting price tags on everything and remembering food to snack on
  2. It’s an outdoor show, so there’s things like the weather to think about–oh and a tent!
  3. Speaking of tents, the one I have is only about half the size of the space I reserved, so I’m not sure if that will look too odd
  4. My tent (12×12) is actually bigger than my living room, making an indoor mock set up an interesting adventure
  5. It’s a two day show, so gauging how much product inventory I still need to make is a mystery

After all the worrying questions run through my mind (What if it rains?  What if I run out of stuff?  What if I don’t have enough change?), I remember something–no matter what, it will be great.  Despite all the details I need to remember and all the things that could go wrong, there are so many more wonderful things to get excited about:

  1. My grandmother will be helping me man the booth, and a day with her always makes for good memories
  2. I’m getting my name out there and meeting customers face-to-face
  3. I get to meet other vendors and (hopefully) make some new friends
  4. I get to enjoy the invigorating atmosphere of all the hustle and bustle of a thriving craft show
  5. There’s fresh kettle corn!
  6. With any luck I can do a bit of Christmas shopping myself and pick up some locally handmade goodies

See, that’s 6 good and awesome things to look forward to and only 5 worrisome things.  If you’re getting ready for a craft show and are just as nervous, try to remember that it’s supposed to be fun!  Find things that you’ll look forward to, and if nothing else happens you got your name and your product out there.

I fully realize I’m new to this whole thing. I’m inevitably going to forget something, make mistakes, and think of all the things I should have done–but learning from these experiences allows a business to grow.  Finding out which products customer really love, or the best way to display items, or which promotions are effective is all invaluable knowledge, so use it!

If you’re in the area and want to stop by the show, please come visit!

Address

Birmingham Methodist Church
15018 South St.
Wakeman, Ohio 44889

Hours

Sunday: 11:00 AM – 4:30 PM
Saturday: 9:30 AM – 4:30 PM

Admission

Admission: 4.00
Children (under 10): FREE

Events Dates:

10/6/2012 – 10/7/2012

Of course I’ll keep everyone updated on how it goes in a few weeks.  In the meantime I’m stocking up my inventory and crafting like crazy, hence why I’m still awake at 3am.  Tomorrow, on to more knitting!

One response

  1. Good luck on your show!!! The first few shows are always great as “learning experiences.” You never know how much inventory to bring, and what minor details end up being a big deal until you’ve done a few, and the learning forever continues!

    Let us know how it goes! (And don’t forget to bring lots of business cards to pass out!)

Leave a Reply

