Friday Feature – Sarah DeMoss of DeMossDesigns

Friday Features are all about meeting the talented artists and creators of hand crafted goods to share their stories bring to light the value and beauty found in handmade.

Today’s feature is all about Sarah DeMoss from DeMossDesigns on Etsy!

Tell us about yourself and your shop.
Well my name is Sarah and I live in Loveland, Ohio with my husband and three young daughters. I stay at home with them during the day and I work evenings as a social worker. I love to swim, read, and I am a secret TV junkie although I don’t get much time to watch. My favorite thing to do is to travel and I have been very lucky to have visited so many places prior to having kids. I am sad to say that my travels have come to a screeching halt since having kids though.

How did you start, and why did you choose your craft? How much experience do you have so far?
I opened my Etsy shop about 2 years ago with the thought I would sell quilts that I make in my spare time. I began quilting about 10 years ago after seeing a really modern baby quilt in the car of one of my co-workers. I fell in love and knew immediately I wanted to make something like that. Now that I have opened my Etsy shop, I have branched out to so many different areas I sometimes have to refocus to make sure I get some quilts up for sale in the shop.

Baby Quilt, Orange Brown Blue, Modern, Gender Neutral

Gender Neutral Baby Quilt in Orange, Brown, and Blue

In addition to my shop, demossdesigns.etsy.com , I also got my husband started on Etsy. He makes woodworking items and I run all of his Etsy business at demossdesignswood.etsy.com. It’s been a great partnership.

What influences your work from your life or city? (or anything else that influences you)
I get a ton of influence from the other moms that I hang out with and from things I see around me in my daily life. Almost daily I see something and think “I can make that!” and off I go to the sewing machine to see what I can come up with. If I like them enough, they go in the shop!

What do you do when you need a little bit if inspiration?
I cruise Etsy when I need some inspiration. There are so many wonderfully talented people on Etsy that it is easy to find great ideas. Of course I don’t steal anyone’s designs but if I am at a loss for a quilt idea, I will see styles that I like and then create my own pattern using a blend of different ideas.

What is your best achievement?
My kids! I am so proud of the little people that they are. Out of everything I have ever made, they take the cake!

What does handmade mean to you?
Oh that is a good question. I think handmade is anything that you work with to create something new. There are many people who can take something ordinary and make it extraordinary. The steps that it takes them to achieve this may not be lengthy but if it’s their idea and their hands that do it, I say that’s handmade.

Do you also offer custom made items? Is it something you like to do?
I LOVE custom items! Most of the things I sell in my shop are the result in custom items. If someone asks me to make something, I generally start selling it because if one person wanted it, perhaps someone else will too. Custom quilts are my favorite. I love creating a piece of art from someone’s fabrics, old t-shirts, or just from their ideas.

Ponytail holders, Rainbow Lot, 6 Colors, Fabric Covered Buttons, Red Orange Yellow Green Blue Purple, Large

Rainbow Ponytail Holders

What plans do you have for the future of you business?
I am always trying to get back to quilting as the focus of my shop. In the next few years, my baby will go off to first grade and I will have to go back to work full time. At that time I plan on narrowing my shop focus to just quilts so I can sell what I make during the weekends.

Any advice for others looking to sell their handmade items?
Read, read, read. Etsy is a very simple concept with layers and layers of levels. Anyone can pay 20 cents, take some photos, and list an item. To get that item to sell, you need to spend some serious time in the Etsy forums listening to every piece of information that is out there. Etsy also changes all the time. It is so important to keep up with these changes to keep yourself in the game.

Many thanks to Sarah and be sure to check out the rest of her shop!  She has a variety of items for everyone (from quilts to coasters to hair accessories)!

Stay tuned for more Friday Features, crafty tutorials, and other joyous posts!  If you’d like to stay up-to-date on happenings here at Homegrownjoy, follow this blog, like us on Facebook, or follow on Twitter.  Thank you!

One response

Leave a Reply

