Monday Munchies – Quick Iced Tea

Monday Munchies is all about food (and drink).  I love to eat, cook, bake, and try new ways to make interesting dishes, desserts, and snacks.  So here I post quick tips, fun treats, new recipes I’ve tried (and maybe adapted), or the occasional unstructured cooking adventure (i.e. I didn’t follow a recipe at all)
Quick Iced Tea

It’s been HOT here the past few days, and summer is the perfect time to relax with a nice cold glass of iced tea. It’s a great memory I have of summer, just sipping iced tea with my Dad in the backyard. But I don’t always have time to wait around while the sun makes my tea for me, or the patience to really make a whole pitcher when I just want one glass. So, to get great iced tea in about 4 minutes:

  • Microwave water in a mug for 1 minute.
  • Add tea bag and brew for 2-3 minutes.  I use Earl Grey instead of regular black and it turns out so much tastier (insider tip from my dad, the best iced tea maker I know)
  • Add desired amount of sugar (I use just a teaspoon)
  • Pour in a glass over A LOT of ice.

If you have it, use that extra minute to add fresh mint!  I grow my own (really not that hard to do), and it adds a nice touch.  Makes me feel fancy while I’m drinking it, especially out of this cool goblet I picked up for $1.


Take a few minutes to sit on your porch, patio, or right on your front step and enjoy ice cold tea while the summer afternoon fades away.

Leave a Reply

