Friday Feature – Becky Cappozzo of Sojo Shop

Friday Features are all about meeting the talented artists and creators of hand crafted goods to share their stories and bring to light the value and beauty found in handmade.

Today’s feature is all about Becky Cappozzo from Sojoshop on Etsy!

Tell me about yourself and your shop.
I am a hands on kind of girl. My “day job” in Greek translates to “done by hand”- I’m a chiropractor. All day I am busy using my hands to find misalignments in the vertebrae of the spine. At night after cooking and playing with my daughter, I love to stay up late creating new pieces of jewelry.

Random thing about me- I can’t get enough Mexican food. Chimichangas, tamales, guacamole, flautas, taquitos, refried beans, cheesey-goodness- the list goes on! I could eat it every meal, every day. I recently moved from the Midwest down to Tucson, Arizona at the beginning of the year… I’m in food heaven.

How did you start, and why did you choose your craft? How much experience do you have so far?
I’ve been making jewelry for a long time. First for fun as a kid, and then I started making really nice pieces in high school. Rosary bracelets as gifts, HS team colored bracelets for my cheer squad. Once my daughter was born, I got back into making jewelry as a way to de-stress and unwind. It’s my creative outlet. I love the thrill of visualizing a new piece, playing around with the beads and metals until it is just what I had pictured.

What influences your work from your life or city? (or anything else that influences you)
A lot of my influences come from nature… flowers, cacti, the colors of the southwest. I have album on my Facebook page (www.facebook.com/sojoshop) of the exact picture I took that inspired a specific piece next to it.  Like these bright bracelets inspired by the bright flowers on this cactus:


What do you do when you need a little bit if inspiration?
I usually just sit back and take a little break. Often the break isn’t by choice- more that I am too busy with work and life. Then something will trigger a new thought & I’ll get busy designing in my mind & the creative chaos continues ;)

What is your best achievement?
My best achievement has to be that I had my daughter while in professional school, and only took a 3 month break when she was born. I was literally taking finals 1 week before my due date- my professors were scared I was going to go into labor during their exam! After the 3 month break, I picked right back up and continued on with a full course load (30+ credit hours a trimester!) Full steam ahead to graduation. It wasn’t easy, but I am so grateful for my daughter and education.

What does handmade mean to you?
Handmade to me means one-of-a-kind and special. Someone’s heart went into making it.

Do you also offer custom made items? Is it something you like to do?
I offer custom orders. If someone has an idea in mind, they can check with me & I let them know if it’s possible with the supplies I have.

What plans do you have for the future of you business?
Keep working hard day & night.

Multi-colored ceramic beaded necklace

Multicolored ceramic beaded necklace

Any advice for others looking to sell their handmade items?
Be yourself & do what you love.

Many thanks to Becky and be sure to check out the rest of her shop!

Stay tuned for more Friday Features, crafty tutorials, and other joyous posts!  If you’d like to stay up-to-date on happenings here at Homegrownjoy, follow this blog, like us on Facebook, or follow on Twitter.  Thank you!

One response

Leave a Reply

